Sunday, January 9, 2011

Major major catch up time!!!

ok, so i realize that i am WAY!!! behind! so i am going to post each 2 days as a post, so it's not one ginormously long blog, so you can skim them easier and skip all the bad parts. :-)

anyways so after our huge day of snowboarding and skiing at Hopp-one, but we woke up really late and had lunch with the Kaufman neighbors, they made us Udon and brought it over to the house. They were super cool! the one thing I have found out about here in japan is that the people here are EXTREMLY kind to foreigners, as long as you are polite as well :-) .... all the neighbors had been quarreling about who is going to be making us dinner when. Also we have met soooo many people here just because the Kaufmans said they were having American friends in...Seriously, if you know what the Sauder house is like in America (people constantly in and out, a central hub of Social madness), it's just like that except in Japan. So we took a good rest because at 5pm, we hit the slopes again!!! we did a night ski from 5pm - 9pm.... it was amazing! i got to hang out with one of Sam's friend named Takkuya. He was a crazy and very very outgoing individual! he even jumped off the ski lift into a giant pile of powder with Essie and Abby (don't tell their parents thought) :-) during our break, i realized i lost Sam's ipod he so willingly entrusted me with on the slopes, it had fallen out of my snow gear. At the end of the trip, i had concluded that Takkuya was very very ornery, and my point was proven on the way home. He offered to buy me and Sam drinks from the vending machine, but he only gave us two options. Atsui or Sumui (spelling may not be right) basically hot or cold...(i didn't know the difference and he wouldn't let sam translate for me) so we both ended up with hot drinks and i was thankful.... ....until i tasted it... I got sweetbean soup in a can...i nearly choked with disgust when i tasted a chunk in my mouth...it literally was bean soup with beans....gross.... Sam received a pancake flavored drink, and Takkuya bought himself a Corn Soup... we went home and crashed big time.

New Years Eve was a pretty fun day... we strolled around and went to a Raman shop and got a few anime rentals for the evening because someone *cough* *cough* (Abby-chan) wanted to pull an all nighter... we spent the day meticulously and methodically planning our week long insane traveling trip all over the rest of japan (which I am currently on and which is why i have failed at blogging.) I literally have been so tired that as soon as we get to our host home, we shower and crash, only to take minimal time to facebook and email people. that evening we had more people come over and made us some pretty sweet Tempura food..and oh boy was it phenomenal!!! we started to settle down and watched and anime movie when we realized that it was nearing midnight...so we turned off the movie...why would we turn off a movie nearing midnight you ask? because we had to do the Kaufman (kids) tradition for New Years... ... ... jump into the Sea of Japan with our swimsuits!!! so we all got ready and ran the distance to the beach and waited until midnight and jumped it...it actually wasn't that bad... although it was nuts that there was about 18" of snow on the beach.... what a day....

No comments:

Post a Comment